Campus News

University of San Agustin installs 22nd president

FATHER Frederick C. Comendador, O.S.A., was officially installed as the 22nd president of the University of San Agustin (USA) on June 20. He begins his term this year and will act as head of the 108-year academic institution for the period 2012-16. The installation was administered by Fr. Eusebio B. Berdon, O.S.A., Prior Provincial and Chair of the Board of Trustees, and, witnessed by Ched Regional Director Virginia Resurreccion and DepEd Regional Director Mildred Garay.

Prior to his assignment at USA, Fr. Comendador served as president of Colegio San Agustin-Bacolod (2008-12) and as Provincial Secretary of the Province of Sto. Niño de Cebu (2004-08). He earned his MA in Educational Administration from Ateneo de Manila University and his MA in Theology from Villanova University, Pennsylvania, USA.

Though the 22nd friar to head the University, Fr. Comendador is technically the 7th president of this institution. The first 15 heads were formerly referred to as “Rector”. The first to be addressed “President” was Fr. Bernardino R. Ricafrente, O.S.A. His presidency was followed by five more friars, namely: Fathers Mamerto A. Alfeche, O.S.A. (1989-92 and 1996-2000); Eusebio B. Berdon, O.S.A. (1992-96); Rodolfo M. Arreza, O.S.A. (2000-02); Manuel M. Vergara, O.S.A. (2002-08); and Raul M. Marchan, O.S.A. (2008-12).

Together with Father President Comendador, the following eight friars are also assigned at the University for the next four years: Fathers Harold Ll. Rentoria, O.S.A., VP for Academic Affairs; Roy D. Aspera, O.S.A., VP for Administration/ Finance; Donato E. Ellezar, O.S.A., VP for Student Affairs; Czar Emmanuel Alvarez, O.S.A., Dean of Theology and Religious Education; Basilio S. Sugata-on, O.S.A., Campus Minister; Ian V. Ragodon, O.S.A., Director of General Services; Jessie T. Tabobo, O.S.A., Director of Community Service Center; and, Noli P. Detoyato, O.S.A., Assistant Campus Minister.

The University of San Agustin is managed by the friars of the Province of Sto. Niño de Cebu-Philippines, one of the provinces of the Order of Saint Augustine (O.S.A.) which is one of the oldest religious orders in the world. The In 1904, it opened as an exclusive school for boys as the Colegio de San Agustin de Iloilo. In 1953, the colegio was elevated to university status, thereby earning the singular distinction as the first university in Western Visayas.

Page 13 of 13

Go to top